The First Gift of Christmas!

You have to read that title as if you are Santa in Chris Van Allsburg’s The Polar Express, holding up that sleigh bell and presenting it to the little boy. If you didn’t, go back and try again. 

Okay. So, I’ve done a bit of holiday knitting already (cup cozies for my mom to give her hair dresser), but this is the first project I’ve completed that I’ll be giving as a gift. I call it my Moonstone Cowl. 


It’s a pattern of my own design (and I’m stretching the terms pattern and design here).  I made one for myself last year out of Patons Lace Sequin in the Moonstone colorway. It’s simply 140 stitches cast on to 16 inch size 9 circular needles, joined in the round, and knitted for approximately 80 rounds. I used a size 10 1/2 needle to bind off. That’s all! It makes for a stretchy, ethereal cowl that can be doubled over or worn over the shoulders almost as a capelet. I’ll be giving this cowl to my mom. It’s knitted in Patons Lace Sequins in the Crystal colorway. This yarn is an Acrylic/Polyester/Mohair/Wool blend that is flecked with sequins. 


It’s very soft and warm!  I love how the sequins catch the light. I’ve used a similar yarn, sans the sequins, to knit a scarf on size 15 needles. This made for a lovely, airy scarf. 

I have lots of gifts to knit, but a coworker has asked for some socks for her teeny dog. Any suggestions? I’m gonna see what I can come up with!

Pleasant knitting!

Leave a Reply

